Raven Rocks















































Current Lab Members

Kyle Haynes, Research Associate Professor


Ph.D. Zoology, Louisiana State University, 2004
M.S. Wildlife Ecology, Utah State University, 1998
B.A. Ecology and Evolution, University of California at Santa Barbara, 1994

Editorial Boards:

Ecography (2016-present)
Ecosphere (2013-2016)


Melissa Hey, Ph.D. Student

Melissa graduated from the College of William & Mary in 2015, double majoring in Biology & Environmental Science. She is now investigating the implications of light pollution on ecosystem processes including primary production, spatial subsidies of nutrients, and decomposition.


Clare Rodenberg, Ph.D. Student

Clare graduated with a M.S. degree in Geospatial Analysis from University of Mary Washington. We are excited that she will be joining the lab in Fall 2018!



Former Lab Members

Ariel Firebaugh


Ariel graduated in 2018, earning a Ph.D. for her research on the impacts of light pollution on firefly populations and arthropod communities. You can learn more about Ariel's work here.

Current Position: Post Doctoral Teaching Fellow, Radford University.

Jonathan Walter

Jon Walter

Jonathan graduated in 2014, earning a Ph.D. for his work on the role of Allee effects in the invasive spread of gypsy moths.

Current Position: Nature Conservance NatureNet Science Fellow, University of Virginia (Advisor: Hank Shugart)

Andrew Allstadt

Andrew Allstadt

As a postdoc in the Haynes lab, Andy investigated the roles of climate change and temporal fluctuations in the spatial synchrony of weather in the population dynamics of forest-defoliating insects.

Current Position: Natural Resources Data Manager, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

Rea Manderino


Rea earned an M.S. degree studying the combined impacts of forest defoliation by gypsy moths and suppression of gypsy moth outbreaks with the microbial agent Bacillus thuringiensis on the diversity and abundance of native forest moth.

Current Position: Ph.D. student, SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (Advisor: Dylan Parry)

Undergraduates (Funding from NSF-REU program)

Lauren Okafor, 2017, Howard University

Amoi Campbell, 2016, Howard University

Coral Bielecki, 2015, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Isabel Keddy-Hector, 2015, Bard College

Carolyn McDermott, 2014, Buena Vista University

Carmen Kraus, 2013, University of Georgia

Kristin Ocasio Rodriguez, 2012, University of Puerto Rico at Bayamon

Hilary Wayland, 2011, University of Virginia

Natalia Betancourt, 2010, University of Puerto Rico at Bayamon